Select Page

Author: Puerto Rico Pundit

The Purple Municipalities (I)

By: PR Pundit The political re-alignment of 1992 changed the dynamics of Party politics in Puerto Rico’s Municipalities. Since the 1996 General Election, sixteen (16) Municipalities have voted for the Gubernatorial candidate that won the Statewide and ultimately elected Governor of Puerto Rico. Save for Trujillo Alto, and with the exception of the 1980 General Election, Caguas and Juana Díaz, none of the rest of the thirteen (13) Municipalities had ever been electoral battlegrounds. San Juan voted for all New Progressive Party candidates from 1968 to 1996, while Carolina had only voted for a Popular Democratic Party candidate in 1972. On the other hand, Cabo Rojo, Isabela, Morovis, Rincón, San Germán, and San Sebastián had never voted for a New Progressive Party candidate. Barceloneta, Jayuya, Peñuelas, Vega Baja, and Vieques fluctuated between both Parties. It is in these sixteen (16) Municipalities that the 2016 General Election will be won or lost. During the next weeks, we will examine the political dynamics of these Municipalities, one by one. Today we talk about Barceloneta, Cabo Rojo, and Caguas. Barceloneta Governor Race: NPP 1976, 1980, 1992, 1996, 2008 PPD 1968, 1972, 1984, 1988, 2000, 2004, 2012 Resident Commissioner Race: NPP 1976, 1980, 1992, 1996, 2008 PPD 1968, 1972, 1984, 1988, 2000, 2004, 2012 Mayor’s Race: NPP 1976, 1980 PPD 1968, 1972, 1984, 1988, 1992*, 1996, 2000, 2004, 2008, 2012 *NPP won Municipal...

Read More

Has San Juan become a Toss-Up City?

By: PRPundit For more than thirty years, the Capital City of San Juan had been a reliable municipality in the New Progressive Party column. During the period from 1968 to 1996, the NPP candidates for Governor won all Elections held, both Senatorial seats were held by NPP Senators, and save for 1972, 1984, and 1988, the NPP won all the Representative Districts that included San Juan. Four NPP Mayors controlled the City from 1969 to 1989. Beginning in the 1980s, weak NPP Mayoral candidates allowed San Juan Representatives, who were also Precinct Chairmen/women to develop their own political machines, making their fate independent of the Mayoral candidates. Benjamín Vélez (1), Edwin Mundo (2), Albita Rivera (3), Edison Misla (4), and Myrna Passalacqua (5) flexed their political muscles and focused their efforts on their own political interests, often ignoring the Mayoral campaign. The result of that was that Popular Democratic candidates were able to win, even if by small margins. Héctor Luis Acevedo was Mayor of San Juan from 1989 to 1997 and Sila Calderón from 1997 to 2001, even though all San Juan Precincts voted NPP in all the other candidacies. That changed in 2000. San Juan has voted with the winning gubernatorial candidate in all General Elections since. It voted for Calderón (PDP) in 2000, Acevedo (PDP) in 2004, Fortuño (NPP) in 2008, and García (PDP) in 2012....

Read More