US Territories’ March 25-31, 2019 news week in tweets

by Apr 1, 2019News Week in Tweets0 comments

Delays in Congress’s funding for food stamps have massive ramifications for Puerto Ricans

The lack of funding for food stamps has caused the many Puerto Ricans, who depended on them, to cut back on food. The Casa Ismael, a non-profit that helps HIV positive men in Puerto Rico, has had to cut back services because it relies on its patients food stamp money for funding.

Trump Complains to republican Senators that Puerto Rico is getting too much hurricane relief funding

President Donald Trump questioned republican senators why Puerto Rico received $91 billion in hurricane relief funding, while Texas and South Carolina only received $29 and $1.5 billion in the same funding. It is unknown where President Donald Trump got the $91 billion figure for Puerto Rican relief. With the President also stating one could purchase Puerto Rico four times over with $91 billion according to those familiar with his comments.

Guam Becomes the first US territory in 2019 to send marijuana legalization to governor

Lawmakers in Guam voted in favor for marijuana legalization sending it to Governor Lou Leon Guerrero’s desk, who is expected to sign it into law. The law would allow adults 21 years and older to purchase, consume, possess, and cultivate marijuana.

Both natural and man-made disasters have made the US territory of American Samoa increasingly reliant on federal funds

Lolo Matalasi Moliga (D), Governor of American Samoa, requested additional funds from the United States Senate for American Samoa’s infrastructure and food needs. Natural and man-made disasters have put significant pressure on American Samoa’s budget, which now requires additional support from the Federal government.

Reapportionment Initiative in the US Virgin Islands Fails to Come Close to Required Turnout

The Reapportionment initiative posed a yes-or-no question on the ballot, asking voters if they were in favor of restructuring the Virgin Islands Legislature. The proposal would have split the territory into five districts: St. Thomas East, St. Thomas West, St. Croix East, St. Croix West, and St. John.