Select Page

US Virgin Islands Republican Party prepares for February 8 caucus

by | Feb 5, 2024 | Elections, United States Virgin Islands | 0 comments

After the Republican Primary in New Hampshire, Donald Trump and Nikki Haley, the remaining Republican nominee candidates, will continue to the US Virgin Islands Caucus on February 8. This caucus will give the islands’ citizens a direct vote in the 2024 presidential election, with four delegates up for grabs. In addition to the party nominees’ vote, the caucus will also act as an election for some party leadership and officer positions like the RNC National Committee and Republican State Committee members.

This, along with the caucus in Nevada, will be the last competitive election before South Carolina, Haley’s home state.

The ballot will use rank voting and include candidates that have already dropped out of the race. Voters will have the option to choose their number-one candidate and then their second and third choice. If a candidate receives a majority of number one votes, they will win. If this does not happen, the candidate with the least votes will be eliminated. If a voter’s first-choice candidate is eliminated, their vote will count towards their second choice until there is one candidate with a majority. 

Each major island will have a voting sight. The efficiency of the rank voting system allows for quick turnover. The election results will be live-streamed at 6:30 pm Atlantic (5:30 Eastern) on February 8.

There are three voting locations

  • St. Croix: 7 am to 6 pm Atlantic at La Reine Chicken Shack, Christiansted.
  • St. John: 10 am to 4 pm Atlantic at Lovango Rum Bar, Cruz Bay.
  • St. Thomas: 7 am to 6 pm Atlantic at Bluebeard’s Castle, Estate Taarneberg, Charlotte Amalie.

The caucus will also decide on a number of positions with these candidates listed:

  • For president of the United States: Chris Christie, Ron DeSantis, Nikki Haley, Perry Johnson, Vivek Ramaswamy, and Donald J. Trump.
  • For Republican national committeewoman: Antoinette Gumbs-Hecht of St. Thomas and April Newland of St. Thomas.
  • For Republican national committeeman: John Yob of St. John.
  • For Republican State Committee members from St. Croix: Jameson Engelhard, Krystal Flores, and Vanessa Mull Coffen.
  • For Republican State Committee members from St. Thomas-St. John: Alexandra Bonthron, David Weisher, and Mark Zion.



Lahari Lingam

Lahari Lingam

Lahari Lingam is a sophomore at the Emma Willard School in Troy, New York. Lahari has a strong passion for politics and government and hopes to have a career in a related field. Lahari loves history and is on the Mock Trial team at her school. In her free time, Lahari loves to weightlift, read, spend time with friends and family, and cook. She is a Political Affairs Intern Correspondent at Pasquines.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.