On Wednesday, June 16, 2021 at 1:00 p.m. (EDT)the Committee on Natural Resources Office of Insular Affairs will hold a remote Full Committee Legislative Hearing on the following bills: 

  • H.R. 2070 (Rep. Nydia Velázquez), To recognize the right of the People of Puerto Rico to call a status convention through which the people would exercise their natural right to self-determination, and to establish a mechanism for congressional consideration of such decision, and for other purposes. Puerto Rico Self-Determination Act of 2021.
  • H.R. 1522 (Rep. Darren Soto), To provide for the admission of the State of Puerto Rico into the Union. Puerto Rico Statehood Admission Act.

Witness List

H.R. 1522, “Puerto Rico Statehood Admission Act”

Rev. Carmen Cabrera

President, League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC) Faith Council

Hatillo, PR

Dr. Christina Ponsa-Kraus

Professor of Constitutional Law, Columbia University

New York, NY

Prof. Andres L. Cordova

Professor of Property Law, Inter American University of Puerto Rico

H.R. 2070, “Puerto Rico Self- Determination Act of 2021”

The Hon. Luis Gutierrez

Former Representative, Illinois’s 4th District

Chicago, IL

Dr. Rafael Cox Alomar

Professor of Constitutional Law, University of the District of Columbia Washington, DC

Ms. Annette Martinez-Orabona

Director, Caribbean Institute of Human Rights

San Juan, PR 


Dr. Jose Caraballo-Cueto

Professor of Economics, University of Puerto Rico
Cayey, PR